12:37: I’m at Lunch!

I am a temp.  

Being a temp, I do a lot of things, but primarily I’m an admin, receptionist, and office clerk.  

I like to think of myself as a paper and organizational hussy.  

Currently, I am temping for a “Major-Name-Property-Management-Firm” in a low-income, subsidized apartment building, and believe me, there’s more paperwork than I ever dreamed existed in this universe. It makes the MREC (Missouri Real Estate Commission) look like pikers in comparison.  

Paperwork notwithstanding, this is a Section 8/low income building. It is subsidized by HUD, and MHDC, and a few other initials I can’t remember. We’ve got some residents who are what I call “Hud-happy,” in that if they don’t like the answer they hear, they call HUD. Case in point:  

Resident pokes her head in my office: “Did you know one of the elevators doesn’t work?  

Me: “Yes, ma’am. The elevator repair man has been called.”  

Resident: “Well, what if there’s a fire?”  

Me: “In case of fire, residents must take the stairs.”  

Resident: “There are elderly residents on those floors!”  

Me: “Yes, ma’am. They have to take the stairs too, until the fire department is able to assist them.”  

Resident: “Fine! I’ll just call HUD!”  

And she did too. Three days later, I got a call from HUD, saying they had gotten a complaint that an elevator was broken. I said, yes, one of our two elevators was broken, a technician had been dispatched, and it was repaired. 

I just don’t get it, but I have an extra fifty cents if someone would like to sell me a clue.  

Use Exit
Leave a Reply

