Unexpected Hurting

 

An evicted former resident gained entry to the building today and demanded that I give her the mail that had accumulated in her box. I told her I couldn’t. She returned with her mother who proceeded to yell at me and menace me.

fuck, she scared me.

And I know from reading files that the previous manager had had physical altercations with residents. I’m not management. I’m a temp. They don’t pay me enough to deal with this.

What I didn’t expect was the hurt I’m feeling — that someone I’ve never interacted with could be so angry, so venomous over something that wasn’t in my control to begin with.

Leave a Reply

