Coffee

 

I had coffee tonight with a gentleman who is new to the St. Louis area, and came away from it with a greater appreciation for the two men in my life.

In short, I have a poly heart.

Each of them enriches my life beyond anything I dared dreamed of, and their uniqueness each serves to balance me.

As a human being, I have a great capacity to love, and in my lifetime, I’ve loved many people in many ways. I’ve even done the married-middle-class-raise a stepdaughter-go-to-PTA-and-orthodontist thing. And so, being “this way” surprises me but comforts me too, because it isn’t what I read about all those years in Cosmo magazine.

This  feels right: this is me with my wings spread wide, soaring on those thermal updrafts.

 

Leave a Reply

