Keys

This year’s keys.

For me, taking keys off of a ring or adding to it, is a meaningful endeavor, because keys have such an important place in our lives.

My current keyring has my car key, my house key, my best friend’s house key, my office door and mail box keys, and a thumb drive with my current resume on it.

The old keys were symbolic of my old life — a padlock key to a backyard storage shed we never locked, and old desk keys to an old job.

****

In  today’s mail was a letter from the Circuit Court of St. Louis County. My divorce hearing is scheduled for November 9. It is uncontested (that is, it should be) and then I can get on with my life.

I will be unmarried again.

In yesterday’s mail was the acceptance notice that two of my photos were accepted into a local show.

And yet, I find it hard to focus or be excited about either of these things…..

Leave a Reply

