A Little Thought

“A little consideration, a little thought for others, makes all the difference,” said Eeyore.

“To me, photography is an art of observation. It’s about finding something interesting in an ordinary place… I’ve found it has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with you see them.” — Elliot Erwitt.

*** It was suggested to me that I may be grappling with situational depression, which is  kind of a misnomer because I don’t dislike what I’m doing. In fact, the company may hire me on permanently, which would be cool. I like the people in the apartment building, and the work is definitely interesting, in a demented, maniacal fashion, but it is work and there are still an awful lot of people who are without.

But this possible situational depression led me to think of a particularly not-uplifting question that I just posted to Facebook and pretty much figure no one has the guts to answer: If you could go back to your 16-year-old self and give yourself one piece of advice, what would it be?

For me, I would tell myself to go to art school.

Do it.

Take photography, be the photojournalist you wanted to be.

Because I didn’t do it.

I look back and I don’t remember either of my parents asking to see my drawings or silkscreens, or anything about school besides asking for my report card. Four years in an art high school, and I don’t remember them asking at all.

That’s why I’d tell myself to go.

Leave a Reply

