“life, uh… finds a way…”

“I see trees of green, red roses too
I see them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself, what a wonderful world

I see skies of blue and clouds of white
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night
And I think to myself, what a wonderful world

The colours of the rainbow, so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people going by
I see friends shakin’ hands, sayin’ “How do you do?”
They’re really saying “I love you”

I hear babies cryin’, I watch them grow
They’ll learn much more than I’ll ever know
And I think to myself, what a wonderful world
Yes, I think to myself, what a wonderful world

Oh yeah!”

“What A Wonderful World” was playing on the radio this afternoon as I came around the corner from Forest Park Parkway onto Big Bend. Sung by Louis Armstrong, this song was originally released in 1968, when I was five or so.

It’s funny how songs you hear all your life suddenly *make sense,* or suddenly, they bring a tear to your eye or light the bulb over your head.

Time wends its way along the rivers and streams of your life and the once puzzling things become clearer… and you realize that as busy your hours are, it’s preferable to the alternative.

I have had my eyes closed of late, but when I opened them again I found it is a wonderful world.

Leave a Reply

