“I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”

U2’s song, “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For,” from the album “The Joshua Tree,” was released in 1987.

It got a lot of airplay, but like many songs, this one is connected to a specific time and place, and every time it plays, there’s an instant flash back to the moment….

I lived in Queens. I didn’t drive, but on my weekday day off, in the summer, I would take the LIRR to the Freeport station and transfer to a bus to Jones Beach. I was happy at the beach: sand, sea breeze, salt air, sunshine. One day at the beach, I met a man, an Irish man, and one night on a date, he fed coins into the jukebox and chose this U2 song. So this song and Jim Rudden are forever linked in my memory of a summer that was too brief.

Fast forward to 2011: What if I have found what I’m looking for?

What if I have found what I’m looking for, but I can’t have it?

What if what I’m looking for is completely wrong?

Leave a Reply

