You Are This Dreamer’s Only Dream

A million years ago, or in reality, 1977, I was about fourteen years old. I had a stereo, an allowance and a crush on Andy Gibb. I bought the teen magazines that shouted “Win A Date With Andy!” and played his 45s over and over again.

Occasionally, I hear the Andy Gibb songs, when I play Big R Radio (dot com) and I remember the sweet crush. Only now, it seems bittersweet, or maybe time has made me less dreamy.  I know I watched a VH-1 “Behind the Music” once and learned that all the while the teen magazines were hawking dates, Andy had a wife and child in Australia. I remember feeling… used when I learned that.

Maybe being that gullible set the stage for my adult self to want to believe in a happily-ever-after tale, I dunno.

All I do know is that I still have “Shadow Dancing” on 45 tucked away in my basement lair.

Leave a Reply

